Skip to content

Obsession – Video Games

by on September 20, 2013

More specifically… Hidden Object games

September 17th, 2013

First, I give you the setting…

Four years ago, I was walking in the hallways when I saw a very good friend of mine, let’s call her Mewtwo and hope I remember that’s her nickname (XD), playing on her laptop computer. I sat next to her and found out she was playing this game where you had to find certain objects in a messy, messy board/landscape [it’s worse than my room, and that’s saying something], and it was magnificent, because through that, on that day, I learned more vocabulary words. Some objects keep coming, so I remember their names (most of the time). From then on, when I saw her in the hallways, I’d ask if she was playing and I’d play with her also. [also, we argued whether who liked our favourite Korean-idol (at the time) the most]. But then we graduated and I never quite returned to our alma mater… as well, I didn’t quite see her as often as I used to.


Fast-forwarding a few years, I recently changed universities (I like to think that the transition went fine. The paperwork was tedious, contacting the right people and emailing them took a lot out of me, leaving me energy-drained at the end of the day.) and I have seen that good friend once more! I asked her if she was still playing and if she had games to suggest.

Second, I give you the reason why I’m writing this
and classifying it as an obsession…

As a result, this good friend gave me not only gave me a very good website for recommendation but a whole list of games that I’m intending to try out (to the best of my capacity).

I’ve tried out the first, and I found out, happily, that there’s actually a story going on, and that there are subtleties which hadn’t caught my attention when my friends and I played together.

Anyways, I’ve played a number of 3 games so far, and it’s been a couple of days only since I’ve been given these recommendations. I don’t know whether or not to consider this a good thing: for my imagination, for my sense of observation and for my brain to have some mental challenge. Like all obsessions, this has trumped some of my priorities and dumped them to a lower rank. I’ve also started writing reviews for them, you’ll find them on my review blog (when they do appear xD).

I’m looking for a website where I can list the games that I play, the same way that MyAnimeList, Goodreads and TV.com work. Do you know of any that are good?

So far anyways, I have found:

  1. MyVideoGameList, (profile): It’s a new website, I think, which means that they welcome new game data that you might provide. I think they’re progressing slowly, but the thought is really good.
  2. Gamezbo, (profile): I don’t get lists…!
  3. Giantbomb, (profile): The lists are there, but some games are missing! :<
  4. IGN, (profile): So far anyways, this website caught my interest and is more… complete than the others. I recommend it (it’s also more known, I think). I just checked and it’s still missing some games though XD. But you can still have TV shows and MOVIES, etc.

Anyways, I’ll try to put the lists as updated as possible!

Yeah, that’s all I wanted to talk about today 🙂

Ponyout!

From → Obsession

One Comment

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Mystery Case Files: 13th Skull | My reviews

Leave a Reply

