Skip to content

Thoughts – Good story (1)

by on February 8, 2014

January 12th, 2014 

Hello people who have somehow found this blog,
How are you all? I believe in your capacity to accomplish anything! Even close this tab and never come back! YOU CAN DO IT!

Whoa, it’s been A LONG TIME since the last time I updated this blog, huh?! I’m mostly busy writing reviews and stuff, so that’s that…!

I finally finished reading this horrifying novel the other day [this link will be active on January 24th, I’m sorry] and, for once, gave it a rating I was not proud of. This prompted me to ask myself: What makes a good story? Be it the story of a movie, the story of a novel, etc.

The answer is, obviously, different for each and every one of us.

A good story, for me, has a plethora of surprises. I’ve seen this pretty bad movie, and, while I can only remember a guy who didn’t know he was the author who was supposed to save a girl and that the butterflies indicated the author, this one line (which I also forgot), left a strong impression on me: “An author can predict the outcome of any story“.

It had such a strong impact on me that I feel like a lot of stories are not as impressionable if I was able to predict the ending, if the author failed to give me the proper “punch line“.

A diversity of elements of a story can overshadow this, and make me like a story despite the fact that it is predictable.

The first is a character’s likeability, and, to a certain extent, my ability to relate to a character. As I’ve mentioned before, I like characters quite easily. It doesn’t have to be the main characters [in Naruto, I like Hinata because I can somewhat relate to her and I find her cute]. I will most likely keep going if there’s a lot of characters that I like in the story.

The second is if I ship a character with another character. This is something I do with A LOT of shows. For example, Asuna and Kirito from Sword Art Online. I watched the Special Edition with Lugia the other day and what really kept me going was not only the fact that I was curious to see if there’d be anything new to see, but also the fact that I wanted to see Asuna spend more time with Kirito. It doesn’t have to be with main characters (or with a show that has an obvious harem), for Bleach, I don’t read it to see Ichigo go out with Rukia or Orihime, I read to see if Hitsugaya will finally confess to Hinamori. 

I suspect that these can overshadow predictability because of this: if I like a character, I want a good ending for him/her. And if that ending is predictably good for them, then in my opinion, it’s good enough.

This goes without saying, but the visual and auditory effects of certain movies [especially superhero movies] or even in TV shows, cartoons, animes, can make me like the series more [though it will probably not, ALONE, overshadow the predictability aspect].

I guess the reason why this is cool is merely because of the goosebumps effect [which, I think I often talk about] that well-placed soundtrack, combined with other elements of the story, can give me.

I love it when a story makes me go through a lot of emotions; if it can scare me (games like the Phantom of the Opera Hidden Object Game that I reviewed), if it can make me laugh, if it can give me goosebumps, if it can make me happy, if it can make me shed tears [for the characters, of course, not for frustration because the story is so bad], etc.

I also choose stories based on their concepts a lot, or, in other words, how original/different I find their subjects to be. Even though Jolteon can dislike a book, I can still pick it up and wonder if it’s good (because we have different tastes in books, actually, though her insights are generally quite good). This, however, has to be combined with good story-telling and other aspects previously mentioned to make me rate it high.

!!! Something that can make me highly dislike a story or downgrade my original rating of the story can be a combination of
1) my mood at the time I watch/read it
2) the incoherence between what happens and what is realistic of the world/concept or what was told [exaggerated example to show you incoherence: this girl is said to do not like dogs, because she’s scared of them, and yet, she falls head over heels with a dog upon the FIRST SIGHT of it]
3) the values of the characters are not a match to my own. For example, in that book that sprouted my whole questioning, the male protagonist talks really dirty and does a lot references to s.e.x., something I find completely vulgar and cannot look past.
4) the filler frequency of the story, which basically means that everything that happens should have a reason for happening (this might be why I don’t deal well with Slice of Life, because it’s difficult to see if there’s a reason for this event to happen.

For now, that’s all. I think that generally, stories all get rated above 5 because of the authors’ abilities to make me go through at least one or two of the aspects mentioned and avoids the red-elements I mentioned previously. If some other ones come to mind, I’ll post another here! 

All right then, I shall leave you!
Do you agree with me or do you have other elements to consider to determine whether or not a story is good?
You can tell me in by commenting here or other places (and I’ll try to answer).

¯\_(ツ)_/¯ 
Ponyta shrugs out!
¯\_(ツ)_/¯

From → Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

