Skip to content

30 Day Anime Challenge (Day 1)

by on November 1, 2014

October 7th, 2014 

Hey there everyone!!
What in the world am I doing?! I should be studying for my last midterm! And yet, the moment that my friend Munchlax [you’ll find her posts here] told me about tagging me for a 30 Day Anime Challenge, I thought I would start it immediately before she had the chance to surprise me [because you know me, I dislike surprises].

30 Day Anime Challenge (Day 1) –
Very First Anime You Watched 

Wow. I don’t remember… May I cheat a little bit and give you a list of the ones I think are the first animes I’ve watched? It’ll be short, I promise! Okay wait, I’m rereading the rules [x], although there are technically none…

Please note:

  1. that I have not watched as many anime as I have read mangas, so some of the animes will come back.
  2. that I am really, really easy to please in terms of anime, so the answers that I post might vary depending on how I am feeling the day I wrote it, etc.

 

All right, so the first anime that I ever watched was probably Dragon Ball Z [although there’s another contender for that place].
I clearly remember waking up as early as possible (at around 6 AM), sneaking downstairs while the Eeveelutions were sleeping, open the television and watching the show before sneaking back to my room to sleep right after it ended [I’m fairly certain that my goings were not really as subtle as I felt, but I really thought that I was as discreet as a spy].
Seeing as it was playing (and looping, too; I mean by this that episodes were often playbacks from the previous week), I can even tell you the episode that I remember watching the most. It was when Sangohan was kidnapped by Vegeta [wait on second thought I think it was Piccolo] as a child, when he had to learn to survive and everything [if I recall anyway]. It added a sense of humanity to the character and helped create that connection which is shown a few instances, only to almost be dissolved during the Boo arc [this made me sad].

I’m not sure if that is the first anime that I watched, mainly because I also remember going home right after school and even before going to school, watching Sailor Moon [Growlithe and I often mention how you were either a “Dragon Ball” kid or a “Sailor Moon” kid when first introduced to the whole anime world (thus sort of determining your preference about liking shoujo or shounen. Of course, as you can see from this post, I’m actually both; which doesn’t truly, scientifically explain my preference for both action anime and shoujo, I just happen to enjoy both]. I’m a Sailor Moon fangirl [I knew the English lyrics by heart and could sing along (I can still do it and I even made myself learn the Japanese version as well as Moon Pride)], as I’ve often explained in my review blog [during my reviews about Sailor Moon Crystal]. One of my favourite and most heartfelt scene despite being too young to properly understand everything, was when Sailor Neptune sacrificed herself for Sailor Uranus who discovered that, ironically, despite the fact that they were tainted and not as pure as the Inner Senshis [Sailors Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter and especially Sailor Moon, who was still arguably way too naive for their taste], they were the hosts to the Legendary Talismans [the Space Sword [Sailor Uranus] and the Deep Aqua Mirror [Sailor Neptune], which, along with the Garnet Orb from Sailor Pluto, in the anime anyway, were said to be the ones who would either reveal or summon the Messiah, but actually brought forth the Saint Grahal [I still think Naoko Takeuchi did a geat job researching and writing such elements of culture and history into her story], which wasn’t a bad thing since it gave Sailor Moon the power-up she needed]. I still watch that scene and cry and/or get goosebumps… I can truly go on and on about this scene, I really can’t get tired of its epicness… oh… wait… [WAIT, I THINK I WASN’T SUPPOSED TO TALK ABOUT THESE SCENES].


See? Told you I’d keep it short (sort of).

With this, I’ll say “See you tomorrow!”
image Ponytout 

From → Anime, Challenge

5 Comments
  1. mochirochi permalink

    Yay for taking part! I’ll be looking forward to your coming posts on this. It does go by incredibly quick though, so enjoy it while you still can.

  2. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was
    extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying
    your blog. I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to the whole thing.
    Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

    • Your comment went into my SPAM thing, probably because of the “York Hotel Deals” thing and I dunno if I should be answering… but… I dunno… try to keep it alive and put some random things that YOU love, so it doesn’t become a chore later on, to maintain it through school and all aspects of life? I’m just saying this on top of my head.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. 30 Day Disney Challenge (Day 1) | ponytaorponyboy

Leave a Reply

