Skip to content

20 Day Music Challenge (Day 3)

by on December 19, 2014

December 17th, 2014

Hey there everybody,
I hope your holidays have started already!! Mine have, but I have a lot of things to do to prepare for the next semester, for work, etc. Even Vaporeon isn’t even done yet, his last exam is this Monday [good luck, lil’ brother!!]! All right, without further ado, let us see what kind of theme we have today for the challenge, shall we?

Day 3 – A song you repeat every day

Surprisingly and especially when we’re NOT in the month of November (for NaNoWriMo purposes), I don’t always listen to music every day. Indeed, I can spend a few hours and even days without listening to music, even if I’ll put my earphones on, but that’s to deceive people into thinking that I can’t hear them, so technically, I there’s no song that I repeat every single day. However, when I want to learn the lyrics to a song – in order to pay proper homage to it, I guess, I’ll be listening to it on repeat for the longest of times. 

As I watched Big Hero 6 yesterday, and I fell for the song Immortals by Fall Out Boy, I’m predicting that I will be listening to Immortals a lot for the next couple of days – read weeks, because I’ve lost control over my voice due to the stress. I’m pretty sure that the lyrics and the song are related in some way, but the way that these music designer/supervisors and these directors are just able to make you love the song by introducing them in strategic places in their movie just makes you MARVEL (see what I did there?). I love the beat of the song, I love the lyrics, even though most of it is very repetitive.

The lyrics of the chorus are very contradictory; “We could be immortals (…) just not for long“. I think it refers to being alive for a long time in a person’s memories/heart, but at the same time not being alive physically for a long time [Tadashi is a great example to this]. Or perhaps they’re trying to use the word “immortals” in the sense that they could be “invincible”, which is sort of the way that Hiro the protagonist of the movie, feels when he and Baymax get their ‘first’ armor. He really did think that learning martial arts would make Baymax invincible. I also love the use of “watcher of the eternal flame” and “guard dog of your fever dream“, it sort of alludes to mythology of some kind (in my opinion anyway) or at least it represents the Big Hero 6 extremely well, as they end up being the “guardians” of San Fransokyo. The ‘Eternal Flame’ here perhaps meaning ‘life‘ and ‘fever dream‘ means ‘nightmare‘, I think, perhaps I’m just over-analyzing, too. Anyways, I love the movie [I’m going to be writing a review about that in the next couple of days] and the song. 


As usual, definitely check out Munchlax‘s 20 day music challenge on her blog!

And with that, I’m going to wish you all a happy day!
See you tomorrow!
(*^ワ^*)Ponyta’s out! (*^ワ^*)

From → Arts, Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

