Skip to content

20 Day Music Challenge (Day 11)

by on December 27, 2014

December 18th, 2014 

Hiya there!
I trust this post finds you in better health and shape than I am. My cold has deepened in levels since the last time I wrote, but since this is a challenge and I’m badass, I decided that I would still try and write something and be done with it. Hahaha. Welcome to the 11th day out of 20!!

Day 11 – Favourite 90s song(s)

I’m not lying, there’s an ‘s’ to the thing, so I could totally go for more than just one song! The only problem is that I don’t know if I know any songs from the 90s. I don’t even think I was musically interested at that time. So, to help me choose, I went to a website that has the top 90s songs, so that I don’t make any mistakes.


The first song that I choose would be Tears in Heaven by Eric Clapton, just because it’s such an emotional song, even though I discovered it several years ago only [read: not in the 90s although I could potentially have heard it back then too, I just have no recollection in general].

It’s an emotionally charged song in the history of the composer’s life, and it’s so appealing to my ears, it’s very soft and very delicate. It tells the story about a father who wants to visit his son in heaven, where he can’t stay (because he’s alive), and he wonders if his son would actually recognize him. Doesn’t this sort of deal with the aftermath of death? And the very little things that we know about it, I mean… it’s really beautiful that he was able to cope with his loss by way of music. Music really is therapeutic.

It’s so popular that people have even ranked it among the 500 best songs all time, after all!! I don’t listen to it all that often, though, because it’s so sad… [oh by the way, I also really like his interpretation of the song years later, in 2013!!]


The second song that I choose I actually remember going to a concert back in the day, when they were still very popular. I think I went as a school field trip, or with my parents, that part, I’m not sure. It’s the Backstreet Boys‘ As long as you love me.

I don’t think I can explain my liking this song, I just do. I don’t think that I can agree with the wording of the lyrics. Not caring about where the person comes from, what the person has done, is a little bit too much to ask for. What the person has done and where the person comes from becomes a part of that person and isn’t really something that you can ignore.

I guess that this is me, irrationally liking a song, because it brings back nostalgic and very fuzzy, almost forgotten memories of my childhood.


That’s it out of me today,
I’ve got a few more posts to continue writing,
See you tomorrow!
(◕﹏◕✿) Ponyta’s out! (◕﹏◕✿)

From → Arts, Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

