Skip to content

20 Day Music Challenge (Day 17)

by on January 2, 2015

December 18th, 2014 

Hola, every of the body!
How are you today? Good? GREAT! I’m sure you’re probably not as hung over as you were yesterday (probably) maybe! 2015 better be a better year than 2014 was [actually, 2014 wasn’t that bad, for me anyway, maybe it’s because it’s the Year of the Horse, and I’m a Horse? Please look after me, STARS!!]! Anyways, today marks Day 17 of the 20 Day Music Challenge! That’s right, we can almost see the finish line from here!

Day 17 – A song that relaxes you every time

Whoa, I had to think long and hard for this one. A song that relaxes me. Well, it’s a song, or a musical piece?

Time After Time by Cyndi Lauper does a good job at calming me, mostly because it reminds me so much of the manga Dengeki Daisy [it’s a gem, please go and read it if you can].

I can’t say that I really liked the Official Music Video, I didn’t, but I do like the melody of the song as well as its lyrics. It’s always going to be about the lyrics, it feels.

This one, like so many of the ones that I’ve chosen so far it seems, speaks of devoted and unconditional love [it can be familial love, it can be friendly love (as in you love your friends, the affection kind), or love romantic love]. No matter the time, or no matter how many times, if the person that you love is in need of you, you would go and you catch that person, no? I feel like it has to be mutual too. If you are feeling down, your loved ones should also be there to lift you up.


The second song I choose will be Viva la Vida by Coldplay. I was wondering where I would place this song [it’s my favourite Coldplay song, haha].

I love it both musically and lyrically. The instruments used for the songs, the melody that they make is simply so awesome, that I can’t omit this song in my 20 day list. I cannot! The lyrics tell the story of a King who had his throne usurped [ironic, because he himself took the throne from someone else] and he laments this, comparing his lifestyle now to the lifestyle he once had.

More than that, the reason why this song appeals to me, and the reason why I sing it to myself so often is because it speaks of the other side of the coin, about being a King, a ruler to his people. There’s always going to be revolutionaries who attempt to take the king away from his throne [and maybe the King even deserved it, maybe he was mean and unjust]. It tells the story about how people lied to him as the King, perhaps they feared him, perhaps they were plotting his demise the moment he ascended to the throne? Who knows? The line “Who would ever want to be king?” makes me feel like hugging the narrator, seriously.


All right,
That’s it for Day 17!
Three more days and you’ll not hear from me for awhile… until I decide to try out another challenge, haha.
(*゚▽゚ノノ゙☆ – Ponyta’s out 

From → Arts, Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

