Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 9)

by on January 9, 2016

December 29th, 2015 

Hello there, all!
How’s it going? I hope this post finds you in great shape! Over here, in December 29th, the snow has finally started to descend from the sky. It’s been about 2-3 days, and no, we did not get a white Christmas. It’s fine, I’m not upset, what’re you talking about.

Day 9: A book you thought you wouldn’t like but ended up loving

So my siblings had to read this book back in high school and since one of my Unowns is now in the same high school as them and had to read it, I decided to start reading this book to understand the hype around it. Leafeon said she liked the book so much, and I admit: I was skeptical at first [especially because my sister, Leafeon, told me that it would indeed make me cry], but then I read it, and I got hooked. I mean, Markus Zusak has a pretty good handwriting in this one, and it’s hilarious to read a person’s life story (Liesel’s, specifically, but also plenty of characters that I came to ) through Death’s eyes. I wrote my review after reading it over here. Death’s comments on certain events were hilarious. For example:

“When death captures me,” the boy vowed, “he will feel my fist on his face.” Personally, I quite like that. Such stupid gallantry. Yes. I like that a lot.

The combination of the strong OTP and the flawless narration made me like the book very much, and also, indeed, just as my sister had predicted, the book made me shed a tear or ten.

But yeah, it’s making me tear up just a little bit, to talk about it, so I’m just going to end it at this. I’m pretty sure there’ll be other times you’ll see this book pop up on my challenge list!


 

All righties, I’m going to see you all tomorrow!
See ya!! Take care!
 Ponyta’s out  

From → Challenge

2 Comments
  1. Omg!! I forgot I bought and started this on my kobo! I’m going to go back. Actually I didn’t know Death narrated the whole novel. I think I reread the first chapter or 2 just wondering if it was really death’s point of view. (I was hoping for more info but I guess I’ll look forward to your next ones lol) oh, and if Leafeon cried than I might too!! Hopefully it’s not a bawl-bawl like Gone with the Wind lol

    • LOL well I won’t spoil what happens LOL 😉 Yes, it’s written in the first few chapters that the narrator is, in fact, DEATH dundundundunnn

Leave a Reply

