Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 11)

by on January 11, 2016

December 1rst, 2015

Why, hey there!
How’s it going?! I trust this post finds you in good shape! And yep, we’re working on the 11th day of this book challenge! YAYY!!

Day 11: A book you hated 

Hmmm all-time hate?! Je n’aurai pas le temps from Hubert Reeves, local and “renowned” author. Je n’aurai pas le temps is a novel/book I had to read for school. CEGEP, to be precise, in which, because our teacher was new and had never taught the course before, we were evaluated on how well we knew what was going on and on how well we understood all the senseless metaphors this astrophysicist was making [it was “French for Science” and it’s like a way to see if you understand how to vulgarize or something like that… but it was still exhausting and extremely boring to read through]. I’ve nothing against the old man or his accomplishments, I’ve everything against the fact that I was forced to reading through all the things he had to endure while he made his research and discovered what’s he’s credited to having discovered. It was a waste of my time to have to read through everything. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t dislike French written books [some of my all-time favourite books from when I was a kid (see Day 21) were in French]. I just… I just… this guy just… writes too many things and it’s not interesting to me.


Another one that I hated was mostly because of the association of the title character to me in general. And this one I choose is because it was asked of us to read it in high school, and it was in English, as opposed to reading in French in school. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde. It’s a really superficial reason why I dislike the book, I guess. I didn’t like what was happening in the book [I mean I guess I would be all over the fact that this is about vanity, I guess? I don’t remember much of the rest that happened], I didn’t like being forced to read through the vanity of men… I know plenty of people liked the book, but I just… Growlithe and Rapidash know… they know how much I dislike this guy [okay well I’m not sure if Rapidash remembers, but I’m pretty sure Growlithe does, since she often re-ignites my… undisguised hatred for this guy]… and specifically why I dislike this guy, too, haha. Hey, it’s probably a good book, maybe I’ll go back to reading it.

No.

Just…

No.


Here’s a last one, and this one, I chose not out of the books that I’ve had to read for school, but out of the books that I actually read, because I wanted to read them: My Heart be Damned by Chanelle Gray [and this book is a perfect example of how I shouldn’t always just decide to read a book because it was in my Goodreads recommendations]. I already gave it a full-on review on my review blog [shameless plug here]. I had a really bad experience for that book, especially since I was rushing to finish my annual Goodreads reading challenge, and this one was the last book of the year… and it discouraged me from reading. I… I’m sure there are people who loved it, but… I can’t say that I loved it. But then it’s that one novel who made me stop reading for a really long time, and kept me from finishing my Goodreads reading challenge, and I guess, for that, for that, I can’t forgive it…


I’ll be seeing you tomorrow then,
I’m sorry you had to see such hatred…
Tomorrow might be better?
image Ponyta’s out image 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

