Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 15)

by on January 15, 2016

December 3rd, 2015 

Hey there, everybody!
How’s it going? I just finished a progress report for school, and then, I have about a week to submit another report… and since I finished Nanowrimo, I got sick — again, just like last year… I wonder if this is going to be a reoccurring event due to the amount of stress… or if it’s just because my brain produced too much for the course of 30 days… anyways, let’s talk about this:

Day 15: Favourite male character

Wait, wait, wait, there’s only one male character that I can choose? *gasp*
How… how do you expect me to have a monogamous relationship with a fictional character?! A MONOGAMOUS *fictional* RELATIONSHIP?!

You know I can’t do that… I always have maybe one or two favourite male heroes in every single novel that I read. If I don’t have any favourite male or female protagonists or characters, then… I’m… it’s VERY likely that I’ll be putting the novel/book in my not-recommended list. But then again, hey, this is not “top male fictional characters you would want to marry“… this is just “favourite male character“. Is there a difference? Anyways, okay, as of December 3rd, 2015, here are my top 3 characters [that’s right, I canNOT choose just one… and I’m pretty sure that I’ll have more and that I’ve forgotten some].

Of course, this is in no particular order…


I guess one of my all-time favourite male characters would be… Howl? From Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones [link]. He’s different from the Studio Ghibli version, but there are still some parts of him that are there. I guess it’d be different in the way that one writes the male character? Howl was a spoiled brat and yet, he was attentive to Sophie and still cared. He was there for his significant other, and I guess he just… I just really liked his character [I mean, from the rumours of the pretty boy, to his relationship with Sophie!! and I also liked the way that he was portrayed in the later books, too] throughout the story, all right?

I’ve spoken about him before, but Sage from The False Prince, by Jennifer A. Nielsen for sure. I liked his snarky attitude, and his wits from the very start, and also the way that he narrates the novels, too (although that also has something to do with the author, I can’t wait to read the next series from her on my to-read list). Not only that, but he’s really cool with Imogen – I ship it really, really hard. He goes through quite the character development [both in terms of knowledge and in terms of maturity, I feel], in order to become the King/Prince that the realm that will become his needs, and it’s quite something to go through his experience through his eyes. I like his empathy; the way he cares about the people around him, but also his realistic nature; he knows that death is inevitable and doesn’t hesitate to make people hate him if that’s going to keep them safe. Not only that, but he really does know how to make someone hate him [a touch of tsundere, maybe?]. Of course, in real life, I call that being a jerk, especially if I don’t see his side of things, but since I’m reading his story through his eyes, I’m perfectly okay with it.

Another character I distinctively remember liking a lot – although I didn’t continue reading the series near the end of high school, basically because, well, I was a little bit disappointed by the fifth book, if I recall – was Knight Santo, from the Chevaliers d’Emeraude series, by Anne Robillard. I guess I really, really liked the fact that he was a Healer [one of the best, if I recall, and also, yes, I think I may have inherited my acute preference [as one of my Unowns would point out] for characters who can heal from him], and that he was so nice and sensitive to every single one of his friends. He likes his friends so much that even though he knows that one of his fellow knights is his Significant Other (they have a way of knowing, all right?), he will still stay in the sidelines, because she is in love with his best friend. If that’s not being attentive and a perfect wingman, I don’t know what is [actually technically, I don’t know, I could be wrong, again, I have a recurring headache and I may be going crazy]. He’s not really quick to fight either, and is much more diplomatic than his friends, which is something I felt [and still feel, actually] was really important? Anyways, I don’t know what happened to him after the series ended, I really hope he had a good ending or that he didn’t do anything that would put him into my “I really liked you but you disappointed me so bad that you’re now on my blacklist” list. It would be a shame…

Man, I really had to dig deep with that one, how come I can’t think of any other male characters I liked?


And after all this is said,
Well, I’m going to retire!
See you all later!
image Ponyta’s out image

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

