Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 22)

by on January 22, 2016

January 16th-21rst, 2016 [omg I wrote 2015… I’m so tired and out of there…]

Hello there, everybody!
How’s it going?! So, this is the beginning of the third week of work over here, and I am so stressed out that the parents don’t like me, or that the other educators think I’m weird. One of them already thinks I’m a “nerd” [called me one too… but I’m sure it was… ‘friendly’?] from hearing me gush about the Avengers [that means: NOT Age of Ultron, but we can talk about that one other day] and the Deadpool movie coming out soon [and how I was planning to waste my time watching it after work on premiere day one day]… and even Batman vs Superman, because that’s also coming out and especially Captain America: Civil War! I was talking about how I was going to probably look ‘dead’ on the day after the Deadpool premiere, because I’d probably go to watch the movie, and I’d need emotional support because of how good or how bad it will be. My personal thoughts?? It’s going to be hilarious and brilliant, if the advertisement does it any justice [the ads alone are hilarious and so “Deadpool-like” [from what I know of him anyway] that they hype me up for the movie so bad!].

Day 22: A book that makes you cry:

So when I read this prompt, I guess there are two reasons I can think about “a book that makes me cry“: a book that was so good [or in which I connected with the characters so much] that when something happened (I’m not saying what, because man, it depends on the time of the day I read it, my mental capacity at the time, whether or not I was emotionally spent already… if the all the moons of Jupiter are aligned…), it moved me to the point of tears. That, or and this is the case of this first book we’ll talk about (because I’m reserving the former for the second entry for this particular day), the book frustrated me to the point of tears. Of course, we can also talk about a book that made you laugh so much that you cried. I mean, you can cry for so many reasons, and I must remind you that on the Multiple Intelligence theory from Howard Gardner (this is the annoying teacher side of me talking, I guess, but look up his Multiple Intelligence Theory, I find it brilliant), I don’t rate very high on my Emotional Intelligence [or as I openly say and rather often remind people: I am emotionally constipated]. As a matter of fact, one could say that if our society was based on that particular intelligence, I would be flunked out of class from birth.


Anyways, let’s start. I think I’ve spoken multiple times before about how frustrated this book made me when I had to analyze it for high school. I hate it with a passion, and without any other reason than one connection that my friends (or myself) found about the titular character and myself. Otherwise, it frustrated me that such a character who shares something common with me would be so vain and irresponsible. I tried to dissociate myself as much as possible from this book and, in particular, his character, and yet, in these instances, it comes back to haunt me. On the particular yearly event in which his story coincides with mine, I often get frustrated and still can’t really celebrate correctly, I guess. People on Goodreads, and my friends included [namely Rattata and Pidgeot], have rated this book pretty high. I won’t. I guess it’s childish, but no [and hey, I’m quite childish and in these petty cases, I don’t even mind]. I don’t like the Dorian Gray character and what he stands for [maybe one day I’ll re-read it. NO. The guy is way too narcissistic to be like-able and to be relate-able. Does the author just write himself into the character or something? Is this his Gary Stu? Well… he does have his flaws… I dunno]. I openly have a passionate hatred for his vanity – something I also dissociated myself with since childhood [and sometimes fail, admittedly, but still, Vanity is not one of the vices I’ll be seen displaying often, and especially not as often as Dorian Gray. He does it well enough for ten of me]. So yes, The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde makes me frustrate-cry almost yearly.

Man… just…

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, Dorian… just shut up and stop repeating yourself…!


A book I would like to add, and I’m sure I’ve added it multiple times already throughout this 30 book challenge [I’m surprised, given the way that I was assimilated into the English culture over here… (man I was such a Francophone… and there’s absolutely nothing wrong with that, guys)], would be Le Dernier Vol de l’Engoulevent by Francine Allard [are you surprised?]. A heart-wrenching book that I still am not sure I want to re-read [because man, it was just so emotionally draining from me. But yeah, if I had a copy of the book, I think I’d re-read it… when I re-read these posts and think ‘I liked that book that much, huh?! What was it about again?!]. I remember reading it a couple of times as a child [I think we call those years TWEEN now?] and then, as a teenager and no, I’m not going to re-read it again [but hey, humans are contradicting ], but my heart does still bear the print that this book has left on it, however big and blurry. I am honestly impressed that this book got nominated for so many posts. I’ve spent most of those years reading French books, too, so it’s surprising to me that so many of these books have survived the test of time and remain in my memory.

…and in my library, actually.

I’ve discovered a couple of more French books that could potentially have fit into any of these categories. One of which was actually this one book that really shook me, despite the fact that I knew the reality of things at the time. This one novel that I will add here is one I’ll add in the same category as this one, because it really truly did make me sad. At least one particular part of the book is still blaring in my memory as quite tragic and depressing. …and I love it. The problem with this book is that, as of the writing of this post, I haven’t found its title. Bear with me: I have a really bad memory.

…after three hours of research, I found the book, I think: Le Serment des Catacombes by Odile Weulersse. I wasn’t sure until I saw this particular cover [the first one], then, I was really quite convinced [you see, I think that after I read Le Chevalier au Bouclier Vert by the same author, I was interested by her other works, so that’s why I went to the high school library and read the book. I probably saw this particular cover and thought: dang that looks like Ancient Greece, let’s take it. That’s why/how I couldn’t find it in my local library just now while looking for the book! And why Jolteon and Flareon, both avid readers, don’t remember reading it with me!!]. Yes, this is the book I read.

At any rate, the particular scene that I’m thinking about that made me tear up, and I’m telling you now because I really don’t think that you’d be reading about it anyway since it’s a French book I had to read for class: was about these two particular characters. Now, you won’t understand why the story’s so sad unless I explain these two: they fell in love but it’s a forbidden relationship: she is Christian/Catholic [here’s why that particular bit is extremely important: if you haven’t gathered from these two covers… At that particular time (it’s written Year 177), being Catholic/Christian wasn’t that well received. Not only that, but if I recall, Toutilla was actually also been a slave] and he’s a rich (I think? or maybe he wasn’t…) Roman/Greek kid [what’s important here is that Gedemo wasn’t born a particularly gifted speaker. He had something we could call speech impairment? Instead, he was a gifted fighter/gladiator and racer]. At any rate, the Toutilla shows Gedemo the wonders of our religion (I say ‘our’ because yeah, I’m Christian, and yes, this is probably a main reason why I relate so hard to this particular book). Here’s an interesting summary and another review of the book as well. Anyways, the characters go through tons of adventures and they fall in love… until Toutilla freaking dies because she decides that her faith in God is the most important thing above all.

…Thrown to the lions…

…in pieces…

Well, at any rate, she‘s survived by her significant other, who is suddenly gifted with speech. His speech is wonderful, one that his father has never thought him to have. People everywhere who hear him are converted (well sort of?). Several years later, he‘s become a Deacon.

Aw man, all the feels again have resurfaced. I need to acquire this book ASAP.


All righties, that’s it for Day 22 I think!
I’ll see you all tomorrow!
 Ponyta’s out! 

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

