Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 29)

by on January 29, 2016

December 30th, 2015 

Hello there, everybody!
How’s it going? Let’s talk about this day’s theme for the 30 day challenge!

Day 29: A book everyone hated but you liked

I have been wondering a long time for this particular answer [that’s why it took me awhile to write this post?!], and since I have absolutely nothing else, here goes my answer: Twilight, by Stephenie Meyer. Before you go all outraged at me and throw blasphemous things my way, hear me out. Twilight came to my life (and I’m talking about only the first book, I guess, not the other ones, although yeah, I do hate on the other ones, too… especially now that I’m older and understand more the implications of certain things…) in which I was seriously bored. I was really  young when I read it, and extremely bored.

I can hear you, I can hear you! I can definitely hear you, okay?!

OK, OK, suuuurrreeeeeeee…. but HOW BORED were you, though, Ponyta? How bored were you to actually enjoy Twilight?

Well, to begin with, I was deprived of the Internet (away from my friends both in real life and, since I was away from the Internet, wirelessly as well), and board games, and video games [the electricity lacked, too, and it was so hot that it was difficult to breathe at times. The electricity also ran out most of the time, and people in town just nap in the middle of the day, which means that we wake up in the morning, eat breakfast (go to church), play a little bit, eat lunch, nap, play or explore and then eat dinner/supper and then go to sleep. The only games we played? Card games and Chinese Chess (I got good at it, too, but now, I basically lost all my abilities and strategies)], and the only things to keep me company were a few books that my sister, Flareon, had brought from home.

Twilight was one of them. I didn’t even get the time to read the other ones [I think it’s because I had already read the other ones before]. I guess the premise was endearing, and since it was written in the “I” perspective, it was easier for me to find some kind of way to relate to Bella Swan. I liked the idea of vampires and werewolves, although I also sort of already knew that it was extremely overdone already. Even then, though, I sort of rather witches and angels, than vampires and werewolves, but out of the other books that my sister had brought, I must say that paranormal sounded much better than slice-of-life. Nevertheless, indeed, whereas many people disliked the book, I rather enjoyed it, but I do want to point out that it is probably circumstantial.

Since we’re talking about Twilight, lemme share with you something I read recently! The author of this post proposes that the main character, Bella Swan, is actually living through a tragedy. After all, she changes completely and she basically dies at the end of her series, changed by some other being with a different physical appearance and different personality.


All righties, I’ll leave you all with that!
Take good care of yourselves until tomorrow!
 Ponyta’s out 

 

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

