Skip to content

30 Day Book Challenge (Day 30)

by on January 30, 2016

January 2nd, 20152016

Salutations from the past, people!
How are you all doing today? We are on the last day of the whole 30 day book challenge of 2015-2016. I might make the same challenge again another time, since we know that I might have missed some novels… or maybe I’ll have encountered pretty good other ones that are worth mentioning?

Day 30: Your favourite book of all time

You already know that no book can hold the ultimate place in my preferences, it’s difficult to choose, but at least I can give you my “palmares”. I’m going to try to deviate from the books that I’ve read in 2014 and 2015, because you already know I’ve talked about them on my first day. Please be aware that there are probably other all-time favourite stories that I won’t include here.


The first book that came to mind when I read today’s prompt will be Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, which, as you already know, I talk about a lot. Writing these posts about this particular novel reminds me of the first time I read it, while I was in high school, and without as many friends as I currently do [I think it was in the earlier days of grade 7], when I had tons of time for myself and reading (especially in attempts to improve my rather dismal English comprehension skills, because before I reached high school, I was primarily considered a “Francophone,” with minimal skills in English, although my teachers had me placed into “advanced” classes for some reason). And so, I could relate to Sophie, the main character, so much. Both Howl’s and her character development were pretty impressive to me, too, and the way I missed out on certain details, the same way that Sophie did. As you will know by now, I’ve read this book multiple times since then, and I’m still in awe at Diana-sensei’s writing style [mostly because I can’t come anywhere close, I guess, haha].

A second one would be The Wide-Awake Princess [I could also have chosen The Frog Princess, since the character development is somewhat similar, I just… really love Princess Annie, but then I also love Princess Emma… I can’t choose… so I went with the first novel from E.D. Baker that I’ve read] by E.D. Baker, and I’ve talked so much about it that I shouldn’t even. You might get tired of seeing this cover on my posts, and I want to apologize, but I’m not sorry, I just like this novel so very much, haha, and it’s way too underrated. There’s magic in here, there’s an awesome female character, there’s romance, there’s mystery, there’s a fairy tale [the Sleeping Beauty, unless I didn’t tell you what the story is about, it’s basically about how Sleeping Beauty, Aurora, has a little sister, named Princess Annie, who is immune to all magic, as a result of her parents being paranoid about their second daughter getting cursed. Of course, her immunity gives them all a backlash and she is not well liked by the nobles and other magical beings alike… but then, when comes her sister’s 16th birthday (if I recall anyway), who else is left awake but The Wide-Awake Princess to save the day?]…


So this third book that I chose would be somewhat unrelated to magic, but not quite slice-of-life. It is a book that I read in the years between high school and CEGEP, titled: The Goddess of Yesterday by Caroline B. Cooney. The reason why I say that is because the the setting is in Ancient Greece – or at least in that era – seeing as Helen of Troy and Menelaus are present in the story. It happens some time before the beginning of the war between Troy and the Greek kings, since the two monarchs are still married and Helen just met Paris. I admired Anaxandra’s survival skills, as she had to impersonate multiple characters of the Greek Mythology [that’s right, you already know: I’m a fan of Greek Mythology], in order to live through what has happened: being taken from her home… and then being the sole survivor of a pirate attack… Her abilities were such that she was able to trick King Menelaus into bringing her to his home in Sparta, and even to make people treat her like a noble-born, but Helen of Troy – I liked that the Queen wasn’t as stupid as in other stories that we hear about. I mean, no, more like… she is written like a woman that has more wits about her than the witless chit who stole away with Paris, endangering her country for love [I mean, I guess her passion is something to be admired? But I would have admired her courage at forgoing such passion, for her citizens’ sake and more]. It’s shown when Helen of Troy (I mean at that point she was from Troy, but from Sparta, but… I’m still going to call her that) is not tricked by Anaxandra’s acting. I like that rendition better, haha.


Another book that I liked, and that I will probably still love to read… and hopefully that I didn’t mention too much already, could be… man this is difficult to choose… maybe… and I was talking to Mewtwo about this just now: Animal Farm by George Orwell. Despite the fact that George Orwell massacred the horses – my favourite animals, as you should well know (I’m a horse on fire on all parts of the Internet, come on, people OPEN YOUR EYES) [note: I had a private mourning period because man, I really liked that hard-working horse, and I still really do love the character – or what I remember of him anyway], I still really liked reading through it, and analyzing it in class. I don’t look at pigs the same way anymore, ever since that Animal Farm year in high school. George Orwell and Pink Floyd is also the reason why sometimes I’ll use “sheep” in that perspective? Well I guess you’ll see it once you’ve read it.


This last book [that I can think of anyway] which I’ve read about twice only maybe, but which left me with a smile whenever I see it on my bookshelf will be Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. I knew it because it was a book that Vaporeon had to read. It was sitting on his bookshelf and he didn’t read it for awhile, so I had decided to give it a go. It was really quite good, that is, despite being more “slice of life” in genre, without any ‘magic’ (well, that’s arguable). Especially because of that genre, and maybe because it was such a small novel [and that my own brother liked it so much, maybe? To explain to you: my brother has questionable taste in many things about life in general, so we don’t always agree], I didn’t expect to like it as much, as I did. I liked reading through the narrator’s thoughts about the titular character, and, like I said, I have a fond feeling of the book, even if I don’t recall everything about it. I should re-read it this year, for nostalgia’s sake, haha.


With all that being said,
Thank you so much for bearing with me all these 30 days!
Let’s hope that we can have more opportunities to talk about books!
Take good care of yourselves!
Add me on Goodreads, so I can find out more interesting books!
 Ponyta’s gone 

P.S. If you have any interesting 30 day challenges or 20 day challenges, bring it on, I’ll… do my best to complete them on time (a.k.a. schedule them). You can also go and challenge Mewtwo [press here for the link to her blog], Bayleef [just click here] or Munchlax [you’ll find the link here] on their blogs as well [or you can go enjoy their blog posts, as I have, so far anyway (especially since I just finished giving Bayleef her gif tutorial, hehehe, let’s hope she does my tutorial justice. And if you’re reading this far, good luck, Bayleef)].

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

