Skip to content

30 Day Disney Challenge (Day 8)

by on June 8, 2016

June 6th, 2016

Hello there, all!
How are you doing? I hope that this month is coming along well for all of us. So far, it’s coming along pretty well, especially since the kids all slept during nap time, and I had the time to write a really really good post for today. The problem is this: IT DID NOT SAVE! So now I’m a little bit… miffed (read: angry), but anyways, it’s fine: I know what I want to talk about and who I’m going to talk about for this prompt:

Day 8: Your favorite villain.

I believe my favorite villain will probably have to be Hades from Hercules. The God of the Underworld in the Greek mythology I’ve read is so much more chill than this guy, and yet, because he’s the God of Death, Disney creators decided to make him the villain.

Of course.

It’s no matter, though, I still enjoy their version of Hades, because he’s such a funny character to watch interact with others. He’s sassy and he has comebacks aplenty. He’s smart and he got his way for a short moment: enslaving the Olympian Gods and Goddesses is no small feat! I guess I sort of wished Athena was more present in the movie. She would’ve thwarted his moves, I believe. With the exception maybe of Hermes, and Hera, who had very little to say, it seems like the only Gods in the movie are Zeus and Hades. It was a very creative way of them to have made Hercules mortal – because he drank the wrong drink. I love how his hair plays such a significant part of his persona, because it changes depending on his mood. That’s an interesting visual aspect of him that was interesting to see.

The whole concept of Disney’s Hades‘ Underworld was also fun to look at, because every time a person died, there was a board that counted whoever died. Of course back in the day I didn’t understand that. It was also interesting to see Hades work with the Fates, consisting of Clotho, Lachesis and Atropos who basically messed around with the Greeks’ lives. They also had the ability to see in the Past, the Present and the Future. These three sisters also doubled also as the Disney counterparts for the Grey Sisters, who, between the three of them, had to share a tooth and an eye, if I remember well (of course, in Disney, they already have teeth, so they’re just sharing the eye here). Because of the Fates’ ability to see into the Future, I wonder if they told Hades that the Future is… different, and that there’s so many different futures that can be taken based on someone’s actions…? I don’t remember those particular scenes well, so I can’t tell you that I’m sure.

As a last note, though, even though he was able to free the Titans, by “tricking” Hercules into lending him his strength, and overrule Olympia with the help of these titans (oh my, you know, the titans are so much more badass in the myths), I guess I am now a little bit disappointed that this Disney version of the God of the Underworld could have had more vision [at least as much as I know him now]? I guess? I mean with all of the dead people roaming around in the Underworld, going through the different rites of the “hades,” you know that he could just set them free into the living world and let the other gods take care of it while he raided Olympia or something [like, backstab them while they’re still occupied with taking care of the dead that are trying to kill their Greek followers]? Or he could’ve set the dead onto the world, to create MORE dead, so that he can make them take Olympia. Can Zeus and the other Olympian gods really kill souls who are already dead?! I think not! Anyways, that would’ve been a nice premise if it wasn’t for a younger audience, I guess…


Another villain worth mentioning would probably have to be Davy Jones, from the Pirates of the Caribbeans series, which is also a movie produced and distributed by Disney, if I recall correctly. Why? Well, because I guess I can relate to this Octopus Man. Let me explain to you why I think his tragic story is important to me.

Captain Davy Jones was a sailor who fell in love with the personification of the sea: the Sea Goddess herself, Calypso. One should think he fell for her despite her temper and her fleeting nature. Calypso as well, for reasons unknown to us, mostly because it wasn’t written in black and white [unless I sort of misunderstood, the movie IS admittedly long and didn’t give us enough depth in these things…], fell in love with this particular sailor. I like to think it was because of his noble heart, even though I know it could be difficult for us to picture an Octopus Man like Davy Jones, to be noble of heart.

At any rate, the Goddess, immortal and powerful, fell in love with a mortal, which meant she could lose him at any moment due to his sailing all the time. I think she devised the plan of making Davy Jones immortal by giving him the job of ferrying souls who died at sea to the Underworld (I call it the Underworld but the Pirates of the Caribbeans lore dictate that it’s Fiddler’s Green. You’ll notice my choice of the word “Underworld,” because I am a Greek Mythology ‘novice’ [read: enthusiast], and I absolutely love reading up on those, and that’s why you’re stuck reading this on the two villains I like: because they tie with Greek Mythology, even though… well Lucario [I think this is one of the first times I’m mentioning him. Just check the Pokedex for the others you don’t know, readers, whoever you are, if you want some context] and I sort of agree that the writers didn’t really use the Greek Mythology Calypso, except for the name…). At any rate, the making of his immortal soul meant that he had also a curse: to stay away from dry land for 10 years. At the end of these 10 years, he would be reunited with his love again. The screenwriter, Terry Rossio, said in an interview, if I recall, that the curse of dry land was only temporary and would only last 10 years, and would end if the true love of the Flying Dutchman‘s captain were to stay true to her words and meet him after 10 years.

This is an aside for me, but I like to believe Calypso tailored this curse, because she wanted to see how dedicated to her he was (the irony! Oh the irony!), that way, it’d be reassurance that he does truly love her, not for the Godlike powers but for the woman she is. I guess it’s quite “human” to wish to know these things. I mean, I’d want to know what I am getting into if I choose to get shackled to a relationship, haha. And I wouldn’t want the significant other to be one who abused my powers when they had a need for it. That would suck. All the time and investment and feelings I would have poured into the relationship. Rendered moot because Mister/Missy/Person decided they’d rather have immense power over the ocean?! NO SIR! Or, of course, it could’ve been something along the lines of: “Boy, if you wanna be with me, and be immortal, then you gotta have the courage to stand alone for 10 years only to be rewarded with 1 day with me! There’s a cost to what you want.

And so, with a hopeful heart, the first ten years of Davy Jones‘ life as Ferryman of Souls began [notice how this is so similar to Charon/Kharon who’s also the ferrymen of souls, but to the Greek Underworld [that’s right, again with a Greek Mythology callback, because I’m OBSESSED. This post should be categorized as “obsession” as well…]]. I like to think he was quite diligent at his task. However, and this is because it didn’t last long, since I said “the first of his ten years,” after all the hardships he and his men had to go through to ferry 10 year worth of souls to the Underworld, when he was finally able to walk among the living, to see the woman he’d abandoned his life for, she was not there. Calypso had abandoned him.

She’d betrayed him, or forgotten.

The anger, the hurt, the betrayal pained the man so much that he ripped his heart out (man I’d love to be able to do that. Does it mean that I’d care less about people? Or that I wouldn’t care about updating this blog, or commenting on other people’s post, I wouldn’t care about so many things and over-thinking things…) and locked it where no one could possibly find it (well they eventually did but with help). Left with his mistrust of the Sea Goddess and his bitter feeling, he rallied the most powerful pirates and imprisoned the Goddess of the Sea into a mortal body, thus letting the pirates claim the Sea for themselves. These pirates would become Pirate Lords [yes I know my Pirates of the Caribbeans  lore]. Of course though, this guy did this behind the scenes, that’s sort of why Calypso doesn’t know that he was behind the betrayal [it sort of explains why she’s reacting like that when she says “It was not worth feeling what small fleeting joy life brings,” she’s like: “man that little boy couldn’t take one small heartbreak that I gave him, and he really just ripped his heart out. That’s so weak. He could’ve just come back 10 years after. I was right there. I missed the first decade, but I was there for the next ones” Girl/Sea/Woman, you done him wrong], behind her imprisonment in a mortal body [we can talk more about these events later, I’m sort of supposed to talk about Davy Jones #helpme].

Not only that, but Davy Jones stopped ferrying the souls into the afterlife (since we see Governor Swann and the others on sailboats, going into the Underworld, I think it’s safe to assume that perhaps Davy Jones‘ job wasn’t all that important. Unless he’s the one who set up the system so that he wouldn’t have to waste his immortal time ferrying; it’s not written much more about where they go though, so perhaps these souls actually go all to Davy Jones’ Locker since that’s where the many websites I’ve checked say they go, and they also call it as synonymous to Fiddler’s Green, but I want to say there’s a difference: Davy Jones’ Locker is where the souls that are supposed to go to the Underworld/Fiddler’s Green go to, ever since he’s stopped ferrying them into the Underworld, thus failing at his job. It needs to be more explored in the movies… well I mean, he’s a dead character now (or is he…?). Why does the Dutchman always need the captain… then…? Who had to ferry the men before Davy Jones arrived? …again, so many questions… so little answers… I want answers…). Instead, he killed the innocents who were not supposed to die at sea yet, letting them down or slitting their throats [their souls drifting towards Davy Jones’ Locker rather than the real afterlife they were meant for (again this is just my version since they don’t go in-depth enough)]. He made these innocent souls choose between a cursed life as members of his crew, or the afterlife in the Underworld. He became cruel, he became bad, all because of one super intense heartbreak over a relationship that seems unidirectional.

I guess the Davy Jones I describe here is tragic? I don’t commend what he’s been doing for all these years (Killing is WRONG, Readers! Killing is WRONG!), but I’m just saying that I can sort of relate. What poor soul hasn’t had this one relationship – it can be a friendship, a romantic, a platonic… what other kinds of relationships are there? I’m too socially awkward to know – and felt like ripping his/her heart out? I sort of feel like I would. And I’m a drama queen enough that I’d do it, if I’d been in Davy Jones‘ shoes.


All right, I really HAVE to stop here,
because if not, I’ll get shot by these invisible readers,
who don’t really read everything, I’m sure.
See you all tomorrow!
I promise I’ll try NOT to make it as long…
ヽ(´3`)ノ Ponyta’s out 

From → Challenge, Obsession

2 Comments
  1. Wow. Thanks for this. I was thinking of Pirates of the Caribbean but it didn’t reach out to me. I do love your account on Davy Jones and Calypso. I think their relationship is so beautifully complex 🙂

    Also I gotta watch Hercules before I die. Too bad it’s not on Netflix.

Leave a Reply

