Skip to content

30 Day Disney Challenge (Day 14)

by on June 14, 2016

May 25th, 2016 

Hi there,
How are you? I’m… tired. Very tired… but I’ll hang in there, because I don’t think I’ve ever ‘failed’ a 30 day post, and… I would hate for this Disney post to be the end of me! So without further ado, let me tell you [or NOT tell you] about:

Day 14: Your favorite Kiss

The person writing this blog post is the same age as the day it was written, and still, despite all of that, I’m still pretty much in the phase where to me, kisses are gross, even animated. There are some exceptions though, I guess when I really, really ship a couple, it’s then that their kissing scene make more sense to me. Even then, though, I sort of don’t really focus on the kiss so much, it’s feels weird to be watching PDA [that is Public Display of Affection, for you people who do not know], I don’t watch it when it’s animated, and I don’t watch it whether it is same sex or not [it sort of sucks that I have to say this as if kisses should be classified like that, but just in case, I don’t want you people thinking that I’m only saying that for one set]. While this technically doesn’t count as voyeurism, as one doesn’t get carnal pleasure out of looking at it, why do people like to make Public Display of Affection? Is it a social convention that when you’re in a relationship, you’ve gotta mark the person in front of everyone so that people know they’re yours [wow, that’s… well…]? Or is it because when they’re together, they just forget that people are around and can see them? Or is it just because they don’t care, or challenge us to look at them as they wrestle tongues and exchange saliva un-hygienically [I think you can tell I’ve never really been in a relationship, at least one that doesn’t involve PDA]?

I guess it also depends what kind of PDA it is.

Holding hands? I can tolerate [I mean, if you want to share the sweat of each other’s hands, or if you feel like you’re gonna get lost unless you hold hands, totally do it, I understand. I’m always scared of losing the kids, or they need some kind of physical support, so they naturally take my hand and lead me somewhere or just to walk around in the playground].
Teasing and tickling? Meh, I can tolerate [don’t you dare touch me with your grubby hands].
Kissing? I find that a pretty intimate thing. Go get a room or some private corner where not 99% of the crowd will be able to see you.

Watch me get into a relationship where I won’t mind making PDA for some reason. Hahaha. Please no.


I guess Disney likes to picture kisses as something magical. Sleeping BeautySnow White and the Seven DwarvesThe Princess and the Frog and even The Beauty and the Beast are just examples of how Disney likes to make them magical. Princess Aurora and Snow White need the kiss from their significant other in order to wake up from their spell. Belle kisses Prince Adam and shows to him that someone really did fall in love with the Beast [look at the most magical particles of magic flying around them, the way their hair just moves. But don’t look at their faces, because I don’t, ahaha I just look at everything else]. Then, there’s Tiana who kisses Prince Naveen and, then, they become humans again after being stuck as frogs for awhile. All of these are great and all, but man, I don’t think it looks magical in real life when I’ve had the unfortunate experience to witness once in awhile [by accident. Okay people who kiss in public, do I need to see the tongue? What is the physiology behind kisses? Why is it that it’s so important?! Couldn’t you just… wait?!]. It’s fun, and it’s great, but I’m not going to nominate those because, well people probably already have.


After bashing like I have about kisses and how I don’t like to observe them, I guess a few of the ones I’ve liked may have been ones where one of the protagonists surprise the other protagonist. Let me explain by naming two:

When Hercules and Megara kiss, there’s this certain hesitation for Hercules, ’cause this boy doesn’t really know what he should be doing, and technically, it might just be his first kiss [at the end of the movie, right?]. He’s been living as an outcast from society due to his klutzy behaviour and has been living the other part of his life training with Phil and his horse. This guy doesn’t really know what to do when it comes to romance, and yet, he manages to get Megara‘s attention via his heart and tiny little gestures of affection. And this is where my nomination enters. Hercules the demi-god gives his beloved a flower that he’s gotten from a tree and when he gives it to her, Megara‘s so happy, she’s only staring at the flower. That’s when he surprises her with a sweet kiss on the cheek [look at how genuinely surprised she is, and look at how enthralled with her he is. The moment was not as magical perhaps as their kiss on the lips kiss, but man, I like these smaller kisses, it’s cute and it’s something I can tolerate]. Now that, indeed, that, I could tolerate. Also because man, this scene ties almost right into the I won’t say I’m in love song that I very much love [from Day 11].

In the same category, I’m going to nominate Jane Porter and Tarzan, from… well Tarzan. When she realizes that after all her adventures with him, Jane could not bear to be parted with him, Jane jumps off the boat and swims ashore where she rejoins with the one she loves, promptly jumping into his arms and giving him a kiss; something, you’ll notice from his expression of wonder, was something he had never experienced before, and was sort of eager to do it again, while she was embarrassed initially that she’d initiated the very public display of affection that, I guess, a young lady of her class should not be displaying. And of course, the giddiness that she displays when he returns her affection with a kiss of his own. It’s just… very cute and you should totally look at the beautiful sky and clouds while ignoring the kiss.

Here’s a third one, because I guess I would add this one: Lion King‘s Simba and Nala. I guess displays of affection, when it comes from animals, is sort of more acceptable for me? I don’t know how it is, but it just is? I don’t really mean the part where Nala licks Simba‘s “cheek” either [even though look at how surprised he is. Simba was just having fun playing around, and he’s like: “OMG I FINALLY GOT THE BEST OF NALA! I finally did it! I have improved as a wrestler! My life is amazing and we’re back to having fun! No more of that drama with Scar-who?!” and then she KO-s him with a ‘kiss’ so to speak. Then, his mind processes multiple things at the same time: “She likes me?!” to “Oh no, she actually let me win. I never stood a chance” to “She LIKES ME?!” just look at those eyes, they communicate everything (or I’m projecting)], I’m just talking about the part where they… snuggle? cuddle? I am lacking the proper terminology, and I’m blaming the fact that I’m an incompetent lover (haha shameless plug). Maybe it’s because I don’t consider it a kiss, but it’s a public display of affection I find so sweet that I can totally tolerate. Not only that, but I find that these two have had, in the one movie Disney has used to develop their romance, displayed a lot more than just ‘infatuation’ or ‘love at first sight’. They’ve been through fights, they’ve been through friendship (my ideal relationship, I think, would start from the friendship towards romance. So really, friendzoning [whatever you may call it] is just a step, I’m just saying), etc. The fact that we then see them displaying such affection towards each other, it’s a great way to showcase a pretty… ‘realistic’ relationship? At least one I can relate to (not that I’ve ever been in one, so take what you will from what I just wrote).


imageAll right, that’s all out of me today!
Seriously. I can’t think of any other ‘kisses’.
And I don’t want to. Really. Take care!
Ponyta’s out 

From → Challenge

2 Comments
  1. I APPROVE OF THAT GIF!! xD

    Man I really got to watch Hercules. Not sure who has a copy though (hint hint)

    I don’t remember who I wrote about but I completely forgot about Tarzan and Jane’s kiss!! I loved that one. Cuz he was like..genuinely surprised 😂😂

  2. OMg you guys remember all of that? For me those were just scenes that I didn’t pay attention too lol it’s going to be Disney marathon for me before I can write any post.

Leave a Reply

