Skip to content

30 Day Disney Challenge (Day 25)

by on June 25, 2016

March 15th, 2016 

Greetings once again, Internet Dwellers!
How are you all faring? I trust the world is treating you well, and that the summer is not as bad as I’m imagining it to be… Anyways, since my Scheduled Posts on this blog has dwindled to 0, I thought I would make the 30 Day Disney Challenge with Munchlax, I’m advising her to schedule way in advance, the way I’m totally doing right now, so as to get ahead of whatever imprevu we could ever have. Let’s see how it goes!

Day 25: Your favorite scene from your favorite movie

Whoa… first of all… I have so many movies I like a lot… How in the world can I choose?! And then, ONE scene only to choose!?! This is tough… but all right, let’s see if I can do this… (I can’t).


You’ll probably have heard of this movie for a long time after all, this is Day 25 and we’re almost done with the 30 day challenge, but here goes, this is the first time I’ll be mentioning it after all: Treasure Planet is one of my all-time favourite Disney movies. I will never get over the fact that WatchMojo.com has listed it as one of the major Disney flops in one of their videos (I’ll try to find it for you). Of course, it upsets me because the graphics were just so good, and the story? What am I supposed to talk about the story? It’s a pretty regular story, with redemption, and a twist of science-fiction, since there are ships and the visual effects! LOOK AT IT! WHAT A FREAKING MASTERPIECE!

The characters, to me at the time and still at this particular point in time, were so very real. For example, BENN, who says that he’s very dysfunctional. Or Jim Hawkins, who is basically a delinquent who wants to do his best to help his mom but ends up messing up so many times. He doesn’t even have a father figure and, when he chooses one, well… what ends up happening? He gets betrayed again. I can emotionally connect to these two characters in particular, and I sort of wish that this underrated movie got better recognition for its awesomeness. Of course, as you read this, you’ll come to the realization that I’m obviously biased, so go ahead and watch the movie for yourselves. You’ll see that I’m right. Or not. We all have our opinions, haha.

I remember Jolteon and the other Eeveelutions – minus Glaceon all watched the movie more than once in a couple of days, and we even learned the song by heart. 

Wait, I haven’t talked about my favourite SCENE from this movie! The favourite scene that I’ll probably always remember is the one in which he learns to trust the cyborg cook of the crew he’s joined in order to find the Treasure Planet. The song or soundtrack that was created for that particular scene was written by a Goo Goo Dolls artist [a musical group I really love, by the way], John Rzeznik, according to Wikipedia. It just resonated with me so much, that indeed, no one should have to tell you to do something, or criticize you, especially since they don’t know you. I’m not explaining the meaning behind the song well, and it’s ironic, because I know the lyrics almost by heart and sing it very often, even now. Not only that, but I can sort of relate to Jim, especially in the sense by which he blames his father’s abandoning him and his mother for a lot of the bad things that he does. After all, he didn’t have a father to teach him a lot of the things. I feel like this should be included in some kind of a song challenge… anyways, the addition to this brilliant song of the very good animation and transition between the respect and admiration that the cyborg pirate and Jim gradually have for each other is just… so important in my eyes…


All right, I guess this post will only have one movie/scene to its prompt, aren’t you glad? Hahaha.

image
See you tomorrow, folks! 
Take care of yourselves! 
Ponyta’s out
image 

From → Challenge

2 Comments
  1. That was a really nice song/scene in the movie ❤
    I didnt know it was Goo Goo Dolls! Gosh it's been so long.

Leave a Reply

