Skip to content

30 Day Disney Challenge (Day 27)

by on June 27, 2016

June 17th, 2016

Hey there, everybody!
How are y’all? The end of the month of June is almost over, and I’m not even done writing all of these posts… *head0desks* I don’t know how to feel, so I’ve got to finish this post, so… let’s begin right now?

Day 27: Your favorite Quote.

Princess Diaries quotes are some of the greatest posts I remember from Disney. One of my favourite ones will have to be:

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear. The brave may not live forever, but the cautious do not live at all. 

And this, as I grew up, has more impact to me as a young adult than it had on me when I was a teenager, watching it. It inspired me or us, to try our best, to try things out, to get our priorities straightened out, to not be paralyzed by fear [although I must add now that if you’re paralyzed when you see some kind of danger like… I don’t know, a tiger ready to pounce at you, movies have shown to me that it’s actually pretty normal? Your body still needs to trigger that fight or flight reaction, right?]. It could be the fear of trying something new, or it could be the fear of becoming a Princess to a nation you know next to nothing about. As for me, it’s the former. I must say that I’m not a very brave person. I like to play it safe most of the time, I don’t even really like the thrill that people apparently normally get.

…but if I never try new things, then I never know if it’s something I’ll enjoy, and I’ll regret it, right? These words speak to me more right now than they would have a few days ago, I think. And… because I’m so ingrained in my ‘cautious’ trait, I guess… I’ll be trying this new Distraction out, baby steps.

…baby steps…


You’re gonna laugh, because the heroine from Princess Diaries is played by the same actress as my next nomination: Ella Enchanted. Now, you know from my 30 day Book Challenge [link] that I quite enjoyed the Ella Enchanted book. The movie was not quite the same as the novel, but here it is nonetheless. Technically, Disney owns the rights to the movie though it was another studio who created it, as I understand from my best friend Wikipedia. I’m quite sad that I only thought about this particular movie on this day, because there were so many other awesome day prompts it could’ve fit into.

Look to yourself, Ella. What’s inside you is stronger than any spell. 

I think this line is pretty powerful the way cliche-d lines usually are. I call it cliche, because, well, we are all going to hear something like that, aren’t we? And, while we do hear it often enough for it to become cliche, I feel like we don’t always… believe in it? Especially for those people who are more self-conscious than others? Don’t get me wrong though, self-consciousness means you’re more humble, but… in an unhealthy amount, let me tell you from personal experience that it can break you. So I thought this line was pretty great in the sense because we keep hearing it, it’s because it’s to keep reminding us (and the characters those words are directed to, of course, there has to be a context in the movie) that we/they are stronger than what the world believes.

Another great quote would be…

I don’t need your chivalry, thanks. And I have no intention of curtsying either, so you can forget it. 

…mostly because it goes against how we usually know people to treat Royalty? I think I admire Ella for sticking to her shoes and treating Charmont the same way she would any other person. And I think he likes that too. I would have gone the polite route and probably bobbed my head forward just a little. Depending on my mood, I mean, I can be overly polite, or I’m just downright rude. There’s no middle ground, with me (or is there?! Contradictory Ponyta strikes again!). I guess I just enjoyed that the “Prince” and “Princess” didn’t fall in love at first sight and actually didn’t like each other that much. In terms of Ella anyway, Charmont was pretty impressed and intrigued by her at the beginning.


Treasure Planet has many great ones as well, but I’ll choose only one, and that one is the one that makes me tear up a lot because of its context.

Now you listen to me, James Hawkins. You got the makings of greatness in you, but you got to take the helm and chart your own course. Stick to it, no matter the squalls! And when the time comes you get the chance to really test the cut of your sails, and show what you’re made of… well, I hope I’m there, catching some of the light coming off you that day.

Let me give you that context, even though you’ve heard me say it often enough… probably… Let me try to put it in different words than you have heard before. Jim Hawkins is basically a teenager who is tough. He attracts trouble and he could be considered a delinquent by society. Well, he is one. He has been trying to mend is ways, though, and he was trying to do good, but he failed. Badly. His confidence in himself was in the negative infinity, and he needed a pick-me-up. Silver, the cyborg who basically becomes a father figure for him, gives him this speech, which he has been dreaming of hearing from his own father. It’s so important, because this cyborg has gotten through to Jim, and eventually, thanks to SilverJim Hawkins really does show the world what he was made of, and, it was just… such a great motivational speech.


There are plenty of amazing quotes from Disney, and if I could and if I had the time, I would name all of them to you, and tell you why I name them, but… frankly it would take too much time, and you know my moods are a-fleeting, so… there were three movies that had great quotes in them. Maybe one day if I re-do this challenge, the quotes will change.

Maybe not.


imageAll righties,
See you all tomorrow!
Ponyout 

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

