Skip to content

Year in Review (2016)

by on January 3, 2017

January 1rst, 2017

Happy new year!
How’s it going, faithful readers? I don’t know why you’re still here, I realized that I didn’t finish my November posts as I should have and it was equally difficult for me to even finish Nanowrimo this year. Nevertheless, here we are, we somehow managed to survive the year 2016. Good things happened, and bad things happened… I guess the most important thing is that we managed to survive.

image

This is the first time that I’ve typed 2017, and man, my fingers are still so used to typing 2016 that they reach for the ‘6‘ automatically. For this particular year, I wish you all joy, health, strength, love in all forms and shape as well as successes.

I think that I wish this every single year though, so forgive my being… ‘repetitive’.

image

I think I used to be one of those people who did resolutions. I remember as a child writing them down on a piece of paper, which I would put on my wall next to my bed to review, and then, as months passed, I would simply forget about them as I’m sure a lot of people do.

image

Suffice to say that I don’t do those anymore. I simply hope that this year will be a good year, and I hope that I’ll have enough conviction and strength in order to improve. If I can’t, mostly because I don’t like going out of routine, then I hope that I’m happy the way I am, and that I’ll still be as healthy as I can be.


What changed in 2016? 

Well, I’ve now been on the work force for 1 year almost exactly, as a full-timer (x2). I’m almost grossed out that I’m supposed to be the “mature one” and that I’ve actually been a “responsible adult” (almost all the time). It’s scary, because where do you go from now? Do you stay in the field you’ve chosen, or do you go back? I think that I’ve improved as well in the field? I may have gained the confidence I needed to work further. But I attribute that to having a routine and respecting said routine. I still have to learn to adapt more quickly when things go out of my routine. I hope next year, I’ll have improved even more.

image

I miss school, I miss learning things (don’t get me wrong though, I learn every single day at work, the difference is, I guess, that I miss being on my laptop, I miss sitting at a desk for hours on end and working on blog posts, which is why this year’s annual review of my blogs would show that I’ve been rather… inactive) at school. I miss studying? I get that I could do independent studying, but it’s different from earning an attestation of sorts at the end of the learning? I’d like to go back to university some time.

Movie-wise, I swear, I only wanted to go watch Superhero movies, but Gengar has made it so that I’ve watched more than just superhero movies and I’ve actually been enjoying them a lot? I do hope that I’ll be able to continue to enjoy these things as a less brainless consumer next year. By that, I mean that I may not go watch movies like Assassin’s Creed in the movie theater [I’m sorry that Assassin’s Creed is the only movie I’m speaking about here, but Doctor Strange was a fantastic movie, Fantastic Beasts and where to find them and Moana were also extremely nice. They celebrated my birth month amazingly, in my most humble opinion that no one asked] and wait patiently for the movie releases as I’d done in the last few years.

Blog-wise, well, this blog as well as my review blog have been lacking in content. However, at least we’ve managed to post a couple of blog posts for the Foodie reviews [adequately named The Adventures of the Chummy Tummies], thanks to BayleefMunchlax and Charmander! We’ve accumulated 11 posts since the beginning of the year, which is a feat, considering that we’ve created that particular blog before 2014. I do hope we will have more content in the following year as well (I’ve already scheduled about 4 posts, so I think we’re good for at least until April 2017).

Writing-wise, I’ve started this Letter Game, a role-playing writing exercise of sorts, with Charmander and Mewtwo back in September 2016, and I am truly hoping that we will be continuing the exercise for as long as we can. I also managed to finish Nanowrimo this November as well (whoot!). I’m adding this as a feat because, unlike every single year, I didn’t have access to my laptop at every hour of the day, so it was much more difficult to juggle writing with my full-time jobs. I hope that 2017 will be an easier year in terms of writing! Reading-wise?! Let’s… never talk about how I failed to read because Andrea was acting up and failed me this whole year.


What about y’all? Do you have any New Year’s Resolutions?
If you don’t do that, do you have any rituals that you do in the beginning of the year? Any… beliefs? Good omens? Bad omens?

Wishing you all the best in this new year,
( ・ω・)o─━・*:・:・゚・:※   Ponyta’s out 

image

From → Thoughts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

