Skip to content

Journal – About Me April Challenge (Day 19)

by on April 19, 2017

April 6th, 2017

Hey there, all!
How’s it going?! We’re more than half-way through the month! Do you know what this means?! We should celebrate! …by doing yet another prompt, because I’ve got to, haha.

Day 19: Your favorite song to sing

There are just so many songs that I’ve gone through that I’ve actually loved enough to listen to multiple times, in order to properly learn the lyrics, the intonation, the tone and the keys [much to the chagrin of my siblings, mind you]. Thus, I have a lot of songs that I like to sing… I’ll probably go with the songs that I love the most at the moment. Tomorrow, it might be another, and if you ask me next month, it might be another, etc.



Right now, as I’ve finished watching Beauty and the Beast with Jolteon: the song I’m probably going to be listening to the most is going to be: Tale as Old as Time.

Right now, as I’ve finished watching Beauty and the Beast with Jolteon: the song I’m probably going to be listening to the most is going to be: Tale as Old as Time.

It brings me back to the old Disney Movies, although I must say that I didn’t watch that one as much, seeing as, out of all the classic Disney movies, my parents never saw fit to buy us the VHS for that one. I have, instead, a Christmas special, which we would certainly watch a lot, but it wasn’t the original movie per say.

The song is magnificent? The keys and its introduction, before Mrs Potts sings the first few lines. Here are my favourite parts of the song:

Tale as old as time
True as it can be
Barely even friends
Then somebody bends
Unexpectedly
Just a little change
Small to say the least
Both a little scared
Neither one prepared
A strong contender for the first mention would be: Something There. The 2017 version of the song seems, to me, to be even more whimsical than the previous one had been. I also love the old version, of course, because the Beast is even more awkward and funny. Both versions had a nice transition of the way they sing and the way they interact with each other. My favourite lyrics:
She glanced this way, I thought I saw
And when we touched she didn’t shudder at my paw
No, it can’t be, I’ll just ignore
But then she’s never looked at me that way before
New and a bit alarming
Who’d have ever thought that this could be
True, that he’s no Prince Charming
But there’s something in him that I simply didn’t see
I enjoyed myself during the movie, but I don’t think that I would watch it as often as I watched the original version, which isn’t a lot to begin with, though it brought forth a great deal of nostalgia and brought me back a new love for certain scenes [this is my review, in case I have no time to do an official one on my review blog].

Currently, I’ve also caught myself singing the How Far I’ll Go song from Moana, which is a movie the children love to talk about, and they also love the song! Sometimes, to get their attention, it’s suggested that you sing songs, and automatically, they sing along (it works with 99% of the kids from my experience). Being a horrible singer, I always hesitate to sing the little songs we have at the register at work. Instead, I like to sing Disney songs that I’ve learned throughout the years. How Far I’ll Go is a great song which I’ve learned makes me automatically cooler if I don’t mix up the lyrics. I love all of the song, but the lyrics from that song which I feel most connected with at the moment are:

I can lead with pride, I can make us strong
I’ll be satisfied if I play along
But the voice inside sings a different song
What is wrong with me? 

I mean, isn’t this a feeling we’ve all had? The feeling like we might be settling for something, when there’s a world of possibilities out there. I’ve expressed this doubt of mine before, and she about it very well.


Now if I have to step out of “movie” music, I could say maybe that recently, I’ve been obsessed with singing (or just that recently, I’ve been studying in order to sing):

  • It’s Over Isn’t It? and Here Comes a Thought from Steven Universe
    • You won, and she chose you
      And she loved you
      And she’s gone
      It’s over, isn’t it? [It’s Over Isn’t It?]

      • I love the song and it’s its intensity, the way in which the character viewed herself, as a part of a person she really admired (loved, even), and now that this person has chosen someone else, that this person is gone, the character is no longer certain where she stands, and who she is. I think I can relate to this on several levels.
    • Here comes a thought that might alarm you
      What someone said and how it harmed you
      Something you did that failed to be charming
      Things that you said are suddenly swarming
      And, oh, you’re losing sight, you’re losing touch
      All these little things seem to matter so much
      That they confuse you
      That I might lose you [Here Comes a Thought]

      • As a person who is incredibly awkward, and despite being “OK” with being awkward sometimes, I find it difficult not to be haunted by everything wrong that I’ve said. Everything that failed to meet the mold society or my interlocutor seems to expect me to say. Just as the lyrics imply, these thoughts sometimes become too alarming, too overwhelming. Singing this song, which has lyrics that I can relate with, sometimes really helps me calm down in those moments.
      • Also, as a person who is pretty anxious, I overthink a lot, and I over-worry an equal amount. Often, when I’m left by my own devices for too long, when I let myself fall prey to these thoughts, I find it’s harder to find my way back to reality, like I’ve trapped myself within the maze formed by my own feelings.
  • Waves from Riverdale.
    • There is a swelling storm
      And I’m caught up in the middle of it all
      And it takes control
      Of the person that I thought I was

      • This entry in particular, I found out because of how well it fit into the Riverdale episode in which it featured. I really look forward to being able to sing it properly.
      • These lyrics remind me, again, of how I am when I lose to my anxiety.

And those are the songs that come from TV shows which I have recently been singing a lot, if you don’t count the songs nominated in my 20 day challenge.


I could go on and on about songs that I’ve been singing a lot, but those are pretty much it. Since I’ve stopped listening to the radio for about a few years now, it’s a bit difficult to find in my register recent pop songs which I relate to enough to actually learn to sing.

ponyta_silverI will end this post here since it’s gone far too long!
See you all tomorrow!
Be good!
Ponyout 

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

