Skip to content

Journal – About Me April Challenge (Day 23)

by on April 23, 2017

April 1rst, 2017 

Allo!
How do you do? Our month is coming to a close in a week or so! What will we be doing on this blog when it happens, I wonder? I wonder if we’ll do another 30 day challenge, or something. Hopefully, I won’t have to work on that same challenge on the same month that I’m supposed to be scheduling it for, like today… At any rate, let’s start today’s prompt:

Day 23: Something that is always easy for you

I feel like, if I were to write something like that, then it becomes a lot more like me bragging, no? Usually, when I brag about something, I get paranoid, because suddenly, my brain focuses on that particular thing that I bragged about having or being able to do. And then, it focuses on every single instances that were the exceptions to the rule that I set for myself by foolishly bragging. For example:

Why did I say that I am able to read over 100 books per year?! IT WAS A LIE! LIAR LIAR PANTS ON FIRE! MY PANTS ARE GOING TO BE ON FIRE BECAUSE I LIED THIS ONE TIME AND I CAN’T KEEP UP WITH ALL OF THE BOOKS THAT ARE COMING OUT AND THE LITTLE FREE TIME I HAVE LEFT IS MOSTLY SPENT NOT READING BOOKS! I’VE LIED TO THIS ONE PERSON WHO PROBABLY DOESN’T REMEMBER WHAT I TALKED ABOUT, BUT WHAT IF THEY DO?!” – me, a few years ago in December/January, after the Goodreads challenge ended.

I’ve thought long and hard about what kind of quality or what kind of ‘talent’ I could possibly have, that can perhaps be told about in this blog post… and that I won’t feel like a liar when my brain starts to focus on them, so here’s a few:


The Power of Awkwardness

I think I brag a lot about how awkward I am. It feels like it’s pretty easy for me to say something awkward, and then never know how to recover. Or it can be in a situation in which I am supposed to be reacting in a certain way, and I end up not fulfilling my role as an interlocutor (see? I do use it pretty often).

Now, don’t go thinking I want to be a smooth public speaker either, even though, in certain situations – in the circumstances where I need to be/sound professional, for example – I would certain love to have such abilities. On the contrary, overall, I think that I’ve learned to embrace the awkwardness. It can a pretty powerful tool? In the sense where, because I’m so awkward, some people feel more comfortable speaking to me, rather than some other coworkers of mine, for example. It puts about 80% of my patients at ease when they see how awkward I can be, but it really just depends on how well I can pick myself up again after breaking the ice with my awkwardness. Afterwards, I just rely on my scenarios, to keep myself on track.

I’ll learn to perfect myself as I learn how to be… less awkward… or just the right amount.


Procrastination

In this day and age, you won’t be surprised if I tell you that I’m super good at procrastinating. While I think I have a pretty strong work ethic, I’m also human [or, as you can read here, maybe I’m just a perfectionist?].

Among the list of things that I could be doing today:

  • preparing for the kids’ graduation,
  • preparing my lesson plans,
  • reviewing movies,
  • talking to people, answering their messages,
  • doing some yoga,
  • playing with Eevee,
  • clean my room again,
  • etc.

But… here I am, just sitting at my desk, lounging on my chair, like a lazy person, talking to you about my procrastination problems. I have little prioritizing skills, haha!


ponyta_xy_animatedAll right, well, you know how it goes, folks!
This is it for today! Take good care of y’all!
See you tomorrow for a brand new post!
Ponyout!

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

