Skip to content

Weekly Summer Challenge (Week 9)

by on June 26, 2017

May 15th, 2017

Hey there, y’all!
How’s the end of the month of June coming along with you? I hope the summer is coming along well, to be honest? I’m not sure what to expect from this summer, but this week, Despicable Me 3 is coming out? I’m wondering if there’s any other movie… or maybe there’s no movie, and I should just… focus on getting ready for Otakuthon…? Hahaha… okay what’s today’s prompt?

Week 9: What one rule from your childhood 
do you not agree with now that you're an adult?

All right, well, the first rule that comes to mind is one my grandpa came up with… or so I thought as I grew up. Further along this existence, I’ve found out that many of my friends’ parents have told them the same lie…

Don’t eat the seeds of an apple or any other fruit, because if you’re not careful, a tree will grow from your stomach and you’ll die.

Well, while I don’t want to eat the seeds of an apple or fruits, I don’t agree with the rule, just because your stomach acids – if I recall from science class – are so strong that a seed you ingest – or even two?! – normally wouldn’t be able to take over your body and feed off of… stuff that was sent to dissolve it into nutrients?

…or maybe I’m wrong. I’ve turned over my lab coat too long ago. Someone, correct me if I’m wrong…


Another rule that I probably would contest my parents now that I know how they are since they haven’t really been as constant in their demands, would be:

Don’t date while in school. 

All throughout my high school years, as well as my CEGEP years and university years, my parents have been nagging me about how I shouldn’t be seeing anyone. Their goal was to never let me get distracted [jokes on them, I got distracted so often by the Internet and anime, comics and YouTube] from my studies, because to them, it was all too important for me to pass up. 

Nowadays, though, they just expect me to magically make a man appear in my life, be emotionally connected enough to be dating him. Not only that, but they have their own criterion, too.

He needs to be good-looking, have a good personality, have a good salary, be smart, have a good connection with his family, and he needs to be not white, and especially not Chinese… @-@ They even had so many expectations?!

It doesn’t make sense. How do I make that appear out of nowhere? It needs to start from a long time ago. I need to foster these relationships before I graduate University, and if you don’t let me hang out with people my age, how am I gonna be able to find anyone that fits the bill?!?!?!?!

So I guess that no, I don’t approve of that particular ruling, even though technically I’m such a indoors person, and a homebody, that things probably wouldn’t change at all? It just feels like the pressure to get or not to get a significant other wouldn’t feel as daunting. It would just be natural, as it should be.


ponyta_md2_artAnyways, that’s about it out of me, I think!
I can’t think of anything else that would fit
See you all next week, we’re almost done!
Ponyta’s out 

 

From → Challenge

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

